Asenso-Boakye floors Okyem Aboagye to win Bantama primary

Spread the love

Incumbent Member of Parliament for Bantama in the Ashanti Region, Daniel Okyem Aboagye has lost his re-election bid in the New Patriotic Party (NPP) parliamentary primaries held on Saturday, June 20, 2020.

He was defeated by Deputy Chief of Staff at the Presidency, Francis Asenso-Boakye.

Mr. Asenso-Boakye, a development planner by profession, was highly tipped to triumph over the sitting MP over latter’s alleged inability to lobby development for the constituency.

At the end of the polls, Asenso-Boakye won with 456 votes as compared to Daniel Okyem Aboagye’s 122 votes.

He won all nine electoral areas in the Constituency.

The newly elected parliamentary candidate was grateful to all individuals who assisted him in his election journey and assured of building a united front towards victory in the December 7 polls.

“I want to thank everybody for the support they have given me throughout this treacherous campaign process. I also want to thank the party and all other constituency executives for voting for me massively. This is a resounding victory for Asenso-Boakye. I also want to thank the former MP, Kofofu for supporting me throughout this election.  I want to congratulate Mr. Okyem Aboagye for conceding defeat. I want to assure him that I bear no blood against anybody. We should all move together for the bigger battle ahead of us”, he said.


Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x