TWAS-NRF Fellowships in South Africa, 2020

Spread the love

Deadline: 14th August 2020.

Applications have opened for the TWAS Fellowships in South Africa, 2020. Interested candidates can apply for the scholarship now. The TWAS is providing scholarships for a Ph.D. in the field of Science, Engineering, and Technology.


  • The NRF-TWAS Doctoral Scholarships are open to nationals of developing countries except for South African citizens.
  • Candidates should not be more than 32 years of age.
  • Applicants must hold a University degree that will meet the criteria for admission.
  • Applicants must meet all the visa and immigration laws of their home country and South Africa.

Documents Required

  • Applicants must provide an official letter from their host South African institution, department, or laboratory.
  • Additionally, applicants are responsible for contacting the respective institution to apply for approval.
  • Also, the candidates must also secure a supervisor for the study.
  • Similarly, the applicant’s research project must be approved and registered by the host institution in the form of a letter of support from the concerned supervisor and attached along with the application form.
  • Candidates must have all their foreign qualifications assessed by the South African Qualification Authority (SAQA).
  • Additionally, they must submit the SAQA assessment certificate with the application.
  • Furthermore, candidates must secure their study permits or visas for study in South Africa.

Selection Criteria

  • The organizers select the applicants based on their academic track record.
  • Additionally, the organizers will evaluate the applicants’ research proposal based on its scientific and technical quality.
  • Also, they will take the institutional support for the scholarship into consideration.
  • Likewise, applicants proposed research plan is gauged for its potential outputs and its impact.

Value of Scholarship

  • The successful applicants of TWAS-NRF Doctoral Fellowships in South Africa, 2020 will receive:
    • Travel to and from South Africa.
    • Additionally, standard monthly allowance to cover living expenses.


  • The last date to apply for TWAS-NRF Doctoral Fellowships in South Africa, 2020 is 14th August 2020.

About TWAS

TWAS, The World Academy of Sciences, until 2004 named Third World Academy of Sciences and TWAS, the academy of sciences for the developing world before September 2012, is a merit-based science academy uniting 1,000 scientists in some 70 countries. Its principal aim is to promote scientific capacity and excellence for sustainable development in the South (see North-South divide). Its headquarters are located on the premises of the Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP) in Trieste, Italy. TWAS was founded in 1983 under the leadership of the Nobel Laureate Abdus Salam of Pakistan by a group of distinguished scientists who were determined to do something about the dismal state of scientific research in developing countries.

Visit the official page for further details.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x